2017_Awards (LIVE – TO UPDATE)


Each year, Doc Edge celebrates excellence and achievement with presenting Film Awards during the Festival. Local and international awards are presented in various categories.
The 2017 Awards Night was held as part of the Opening Night Gala in Auckland on Wednesday, 24 May at Q Theatre.
The 2017 Jury Panel: Chloe Smith (Indie), Colin Mathura-Jeffree (Indie), Corey Tong (Indie), Jess Feast (Story Box), Mark Jennings (NewsRoom), Michael McHugh (MindFood), Nevak Rogers (Maori TV), Patricia Lichon (FIFO, Tahiti), Rachel Àntony (Greenstone TV), Renee Liang (Indie), Sarina Pearson (University of Auckland), Shizuka Arao (Rei Foundation)

(sponsored by Panasonic)

Category Winner
Best International Short
(sponsored by Panasonic)
Close Ties
Best International Feature
(sponsored by Panasonic)
Plastic China
Special Mention: Last Men in Aleppo
Special Mention: For Ahkeem
Best International Director Yonathan Nir, My Hero Brother
Special Mention: Shirley Abraham, Amit Madheshiya, The Cinema Travellers 
Best NZ Short
(sponsored by NZ On Air)
 After Life
Speical Mention: Meet Peter
Special Mention: Moko: A Film About A Maori Poet
Special Mention: Stickman
Best NZ Feature
(sponsored by NZ On Air)
 Making Good Men
Special Mention: Set In Stone
Best NZ Director
(sponsored by Panasonic)
Fiona Apanui-Kupenga
Making Good Men
Best NZ Cinematography
(sponsored by Panasonic)
Adam Luxton, Summer Agnew, On An Unknown Beach
Best NZ Editing  Te Rurehe paki, Making Good Men
Best NZ Emerging Filmmaker
(sponsored by Getty Images & QT Museum Hotel)
Kevin Double, Set In Stone
Doc Edge Superhero  Leanne Pooley